White Hot and Passionate

2013

A new year always evokes a new start and we usually gravitate toward making resolutions. Let’s be honest for a second here. We all make a list, be it on paper or mentally, of all the things we’re determined to improve in the New Year. And we’re all guilty of not sticking to these written improvements we’re set to make. It’s quite sad really that we generally cannot commit to our new found commitments.

Keeping up with this blog is on my resolution list among a few other improvements that I’ve shared with Handsome and he has vowed to help me stick to them. He really is such a great supporter. We all find ourselves pushing aside those things that don’t take precedent in our lives, but the more I think about where (I think) I want my career to go, the more I need to have this creative outlet.

For Christmas, my aunt got all of my sisters and I each an Amazon gift card, which really is the perfect gift since it’s money that can go to pretty much anything. Within hours, I made my first two purchases – two career books, “20-Something, 20-Everything” by Christine Hassler and “Basic Black: The Essential Guide for Getting Ahead at Work (and in Life)” by Cathie Black . One of my main goals this upcoming year is to really figure out where my career is taking me or rather even what career path I’m even heading down. What is the job that I’d love to wake up to every day even if I didn’t have a salary? Whatever that is, I want it to be my career. I want to love my job so much that the money isn’t the motivator.

As I’ve been writing, I’ve been sipping on champagne that Handsome decided to break out instead of the usual pinot noir. How fitting! With this post and this open dedication to the resolution, I toast to its journey and hopeful success in 2013. Let me find inspiration, meet great people, and be open to constant learning. And above all, really just live by this thought from my favorite childhood author, Roald Dahl:

“I began to realize how important it was to be an enthusiast in life. If you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good, either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.

Leave a Reply

